“Welcome Marley and her Parents Jack & Jana”~ Awareness of Down Syndrome & a Fathers Personal Story”…

Hello and Welcome Recovery Friends, Readers, and New Friends!

 

 

I have another wonderful treat for my blog friends and visitors of a new book share and special ‘Guest Spotlight today!
Now tell me? Doesn’t this beautiful little girl just melt your HEART?
Please meet precious Marley Barr!
.

(Marley Barr)
.

.
I don’t share much about my husband, but he has a beautiful niece, Amanda Kisling who also has down syndrome, and had a pretty rough childhood with illness’s.  And like Marley, she brings so much JOY  to us and her family.  When I met Marley’s parents, Jack & Jana Barr on twitter recently,  I fell in love with Marley’s photo on their Twitter profile in an instant!  Her beautiful blues just melted my heart.
.
I also thought, “I want to do something special for this wonderful family”,  to help them ‘Raise Awareness of Down Syndrome’, in honor of my Amanda & Marley!  It’s the least I can do to show my support!  I feel Marley’s father was so brave to write and publish his own experience in a new fantastic book out very soon, and I feel really needs to be shared and read.  So they are my Guest Weekend Blog Spotlight!  Here is a little bit more about Marley and her family,  and their helpful website at: http://www.iftheyhadavoice.org

.
Meet Marley! The girl behind the #IfTheyHadaVoice Movement. She was designed by the lovely Lauren from HeyHeyDesigns.com!!!
.

Jack and Jana Barr are missionaries in Bangkok, Thailand. Before their first date, they both knew God was calling them to serve overseas. After completing their undergraduate degrees at Johnson University, and their graduate degrees (Jack M.Ed. Regent University, M.Sc.Canisius College/ Jana M.A. Lee University) they flew to Bangkok for the first time.  For the past nine years they have served God by teaching at the International Community School in Bangkok, Thailand.
.
“Jana and I wanted to be self-supportive and earning our graduate degrees provided us with that opportunity.  But beyond that, the graduate degrees we earned prepared us to teach and live cross culturally.  Our college courses forced us to step outside our comfortable environment of teaching first language learners and embrace second language teaching.  Most importantly, our professors prepared us for a chaotic life of change that accompanies living overseas.”
.
Three years ago, Jack and Jana did not know God would use their daughter Marley, to forever alter their life plan. Marley was born with Down syndrome and that event sent Jack crashing into a sea of depression. “I could not overcome the question of, Why us God”? Since that day, Jack and Jana have rerouted their plan to align with God’s plan. They started, If They Had A Voice, an awareness campaign that focuses on Down syndrome abortions.
.
Their story has been featured on CNN, CNN Mexico, Life Action News, and The Insight Channel.  Jack is also releasing his first book November 10th, Failing at Fatherhood, which has been endorsed by Bob Russell, S.A. Bodeen, and Woodroll Kroll.  Jack & Jana had a simple plan for their future, but God has forced them to trust in HIS plan.  Website Link: http://www.iftheyhadavoice.org
.
*Jack has written his testimony about his experience of being a father with a daughter with Down Syndrome. It will release very soon in Nov. 2014. It can now be pre-ordered as well. The book is titled; Failing At Fatherhood, a book for the imperfect father *
http://www.amazon.com/Failing-Fatherhood-book-imperfect-father/dp/1940145309

.
Releasing November 10th!  You can also order an autographed copy directly from the site for $15
.
Book Excerpt:

April 14, 2011″I hear her breathing—that raspy up and down cadence I have listened to for the past three weeks. The relentless noise makes it impossible to sleep. It is 2:00am and I have been listening to this creature agonize me for the past two hours. Why do I fear her so much? She is my own flesh and blood, yet I lie here silently wondering if I will be here in the morning. What kind of father am I?
.
What kind of father secretly plots opportunities to quietly disappear in the middle of the night instead of facing another day with his daughter? For two weeks I prayed for God to heal her, but of course he ignored my desperate cries. What kind of God would allow my daughter to suffer when I offered my own life to heal her?  God and I both know the future she will have if she continues to live. She will be mocked, pitied, ignored, and told how she is different from everyone else. When people look at her, they will only notice her differences and not her similarities.
.
The Down syndrome parents I read about are only tricking themselves into thinking their child is normal.  All of my friends have normal children who they can watch grow and develop, but not us.  My daughter will never go to college, never get married, never have children, and never experience the intimacy of being touched by someone that truly loves her” …
.
“What some are saying about “Failing At Fatherhood”
.
“Heartbreaking yet hopeful, Failing at Fatherhood is a compelling, honest look at one man’s struggle to become the father that he wants to be.”
– S. A. Bodeen
Award Winning Children Author
Author of The Compound and The Gardener
.
“Raw.  Emotional.  Honest.  That’s Jack Barr, wearing his emotions on his sleeve, in his book Failing at Fatherhood.  If you’ve ever been traumatized by the birth of an imperfect baby, if you’ve ever found yourself in the pit of despair questioning God and wondering how you will cope, the story of Jack, his wife Jana, and their precious little Marley will not only touch your heart, it will wrench it.  But there is hope in their story—the hope that only a good God can bring.  Read Failing at Fatherhood and prepare to be changed.”
– Dr. Woodrow Kroll
Former President and Senior Bible Teacher of
BACK TO THE BIBLE INTERNATIONAL

.
So I felt it important to share a little of Marley’s and her father’s story with all of you. Just a few facts about Down Syndrome you may not know which can be found here: http://www.ndss.org/Down-Syndrome/Down-Syndrome-Facts/ 

.
Down syndrome occurs when an individual has a full or partial extra copy of chromosome 21. This additional genetic material alters the course of development and causes the characteristics associated with Down syndrome.

  • There are three types of Down syndrome: trisomy 21 (nondisjunction) accounts for 95% of cases, translocation accounts for about 4% and mosaicism accounts for about 1%.
  • Down syndrome is the most commonly occurring chromosomal condition. One in every 691 babies in the United States is born with Down syndrome.
  • There are more than 400,000 people living with Down syndrome in the United States.
  • Down syndrome occurs in people of all races and economic levels.
  • The incidence of births of children with Down syndrome increases with the age of the mother. But due to higher fertility rates in younger women, 80% of children with Down syndrome are born to women under 35 years of age.

– See more at:
http://www.ndss.org/Down-Syndrome/Down-Syndrome-Facts/#sthash.0e7bRUBB.dpuf
.
*Now here is more on how we can take Action per The Barr’s Website*

You can make a difference!

My Book (Coming Soon)

Find out the process I went through as a parent.

Click Here to Find Out More →

Spread the Word

Click below to share your story.  We are strengthened when we realize we are not on an island, when we realize there are many others embracing the challenges every day.

Submit Your Story →

*Additional Links For Support and Ways You Can Contribute*!

http://www.nads.org/     http://www.ndss.org/     http://www.ndsccenter.org/

Buddy Walk

Lets Take Action and spread the word about Down Syndrome today!  You can Re-Blogg this Blog Post with my FULL Permission. If not for me? Then let’s do it for Sweet Marley and her beautiful family …

.

.
Jack Barr ~ (Athletic Director)
Author of Failing at Fatherhood
ICS Bangkok
Phone: 02-338-0751
www.iftheyhadavoice.org

.
“When my daughter was born, I told my wife I did not want her. I spent an entire year depressed because I believed everything society told me about having a daughter with Down syndrome. Now she is the joy of my life. She is not a monster, she is not ugly, she is not retarded, and she is not a burden on our family. She is a beautiful little girl that brings joy to our daily lives. I understand the fear of having a child that is different, so I want to encourage you to consider taking the road less traveled and see the beautiful things a child with Down syndrome can show you.” – Jack Barr
.
So again,  I ‘Thank The Barr Family’ for letting me share their story with all my friends and all who visit here, and I hope you get inspired to take action in away you feel can help spread Marley’s story, and New Author Jack Barr and his soon to be released book.  Just as I advocate of the important issues that have touched my own life?    “LET’S GIVE THEM A VOICE TO BE HEARD ABOUT DOWN SYNDROME”
.
As many know I’m always ready to help lend a hand to help others! We need to support one another as our God asks of us according to his words in the gospel. It’s how I try to live my life! That’s what our life purpose should be about …
.
Please Connect with Marley and her family on Twitter @jackjanamarley and on YouTube! http://www.youtube.com/user/IfTheyHadAVoice/ and of course connect on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/IfTheyHadAVoice

.
Much Happiness & Blessings All,
Catherine Townsend-Lyon, Author

 

Share Your Recovery Here!

