“Who Doesn’t Love Ozzy Osbourne Prince Of Darkness? But Knighthood? Lets Keep His Recovery Real”…

Hello Recovery Friends, Seekers, and New Visitors,

 

Ok, so is it just me, or are we becoming so stigmatized about addiction being an everyday part of our society that we think it’s OK for a known drug addict and alcohol abuser who has struggled with addiction and recovery 35+  years, now become a KNIGHT?

 

Does England have any rules or guidelines to this thing called Knighthood? Does the Queen of England really know the personal history that comes with a Rock Star like Ozzy Osbourne? Here is what the definition of an honor like this is based on,  “Chivalry” and the man has to have the qualities of that as a “Code Of Honor” and more! Which are these for any man or woman to be Knighted: Chivalry is a code (religious, moral and ethical) that knights have to follow. The combination of qualities expected of an ideal knight, esp courage, honour, justice, and a readiness to help the weak, courteous behaviour, esp towards women. The code of chivalry emphasized bravery, military skill, generosity in victory, piety, and courtesy toward women.

.
©AP / Ozzy Osbourne
.
.

.

Now look, don’t get me wrong, I do think he “Invented Heavy Metal’ as we know it. He was and is a prolific song writer and singer, but you have to take in the whole of a man if he is going to become a knight right? One would think so…
.
I too grew up with his music, especially in the 80’s, and did see him in concert. And I to struggled with gambling and alcohol addiction, but mine was not as long as his. Yes, we all deserve a second chance in our life in recovery, but it is what you do with that second chance given.
.
But as a person in recovery, we can not ignore all the carnage that came with his past and not so past struggle with drugs and alcohol.  When he went back in the studio, and then back on tour with ‘Black Sabbath’ just 18 or so months ago, he had admitted he fell off the wagon again. His wife Sharon, and his grown children were all devastated. His wife Sharon so much so, that she was quoted in many articles saying that she wanted him to back into rehab, made him leave the home they share, and not come back until he was clean and sober. Even divorce was slug around, but that didn’t happen.

So 21,000 fans have signed a petition for his Knighthood:
.
* Here is  how Ozzy see’s his Knighthood Petition*
.

The 65-year-old rocker is delighted by an online campaign to have him recognised in Queen Elizabeth’s honours list, and thinks it would be ”pretty cool” for his wife Sharon to be given the title ‘Lady’.

He said: ”I’ve heard about that campaign. Getting knighted? I can’t imagine anything better. And my wife would become a Lady, which would be pretty cool.

”But I’m not gonna get upset if it doesn’t happen. I never thought I’d get further than [hometown] Aston.”

The Black Sabbath frontman also admitted he is surprised his career has lasted so long as he only imagined he would be successful for a ”couple of years”.

He added in an interview with Time Out magazine: ”I don’t [look back], but I guess I should a bit more. Because I know when I had my first successful album with Sabbath I thought, ‘Oh this is great, this will last a couple of years. I’ll just get drunk every night and have a few chicks in my room.’

”And here I am, 45 years down the road and I’m doing better than ever. I haven’t always been on top of the world, there have been bad times as well, but you don’t just give up at the first sign of choppy waters, you carry on rowing.”
.
So, that is how Ozzy see’s it as becoming a Knight. Even he has a hint of doubt about it! He is saying he is not perfect, and I myself understand that, but again, I think you need to see the person as a Role Model. Here is a bit about the Petition…
.
Honours and Appointments Secretariat – Cabinet Office (U.K.) David Spooner

One thought on ““Who Doesn’t Love Ozzy Osbourne Prince Of Darkness? But Knighthood? Lets Keep His Recovery Real”…

  1. You would think that if they only picked deserving people then the award, being exclusive would mean more but it is increasingly irrelevant. I assume she knows who she is, I can imagine Liz putting her feet up and watching crap digital channels with all those ‘celebs’ they make. Maybe she goes to Ozzie gigs as well, who knows.

    Like

Share Your Recovery Here!

