Recovery Is No Dog Walk In The Park~So Keep The Faith In Your HP!

Hello Recovery Friends, Seekers, and New Friends,

 

I came across this photo the other day from one of my favorite blogs, “Cute Overload” as to get some animal humor when I have a rough, stressed, and long day. This little doggies face looks like the same as the week I had! LOL. (Photo Courtesy Of
http://cuteoverload.com/

.
14282305499_313b173b4e_b
.

I’ve just had many recovery things on my mind, so I thought I would just empty them out of my head, and let the words fall on my keyboard. Thanks to all of my recovery friends here for being good listeners & readers. Having faith in our HP is the key to a successful! As he gives us a fresh new day to be gamble free, and have a new life in RECOVERY …


So
I went to church last night, because my hubby works today. And interesting enough, our pastor talked about having Hang-ups in life that cause pain in our lives. Why is it that when a topic is talked about, the lord makes you feel that it always pertains to your personal life be it past or present?

That is the spiritual power of awareness in recovery! Even in GA, where we celebrate non religious Unity & Fellowship, our Higher Power that we choose is always around us in those meetings. So our pastor talked also talked about how we need to learn to trust our lord by asking for a new life. Turn all the baggage, drama, hurt, and pains to him, and he will transform us into better human beings, blessed beyond measure when we truly ask for his forgiveness.

I had to do this myself for all that I had done wrong, not only in my life, but within my addiction. The people I hurt, hurting myself to the point of being Spiritually Broken.
At that time, deep in my gambling addiction, I could not do for myself what the lord could, and did in my life! We need to learn to trust him, and to believe that we all deserve a 2nd chance in life after the destruction of gambling addiction. It’s what he died for. He died so I can have awareness of my faults, wrongs, and character defects that gambling addiction shackled me with…

And we have to the work as well. That’s were a Sponsor is so important to us in attaining recovery too. They help guide us with our step work. You need to have a sponsor that is close by, not only available by phone. So you can meet together. A Sponsor can’t help you if you don’t answer your phone? If you’re in crisis, or relapse,… how are they to know why to find you if you hundreds of miles away? So find a good sponsor in your same community you live in.

One other area that for me was lacking in my GA meeting, because I lived at the time in a small community, and that was them conducting a “Pressure Relief group or meeting” by our trusted servants. They were not doing any. And many newbies need this to help with the stress and pressures of financial devastation that comes with addicted gambling. We need some sort of starting point to get our grip on our finances. So I ordered a couple of the packets used for this meeting and started them myself. The packets are a great tool to help get started on some financial relief.


So always remember that Spiritually your never alone as long as your aware of your HP. And we all know we need to turn all the baggage over to that power, and DON’T TAKE IT BACK!  We tend to do that as we start feeling good in early recovery. And just live each day,…. “Just For Today”… Tomorrow will be here soon enough, and yesterday is gone.

Another great tool is to journal. This is very helpful and how you can go back and see your growth from where you were, to where you are going in your recovery. You’ll be able to see and detect area’s you made need extra help or support.

 I still do this today. It’s also part of my mental health program I’m currently in with my psychiatrist. She says I’m still experiencing PTSD from my childhood that I’m not acknowledging which is contributing to my disorder of Agoraphobia. And the trauma of last year having to pack up our life and move here to Arizona so fast, that it too is having lasting effects. Go figure?

Just have faith in your Higher Power, and you won’t go wrong! …

God Bless All,
Author, Catherine Townsend-Lyon
http://www.amazon.com/dp/0984478485

 

Share Your Recovery Here!

