SHARING With You A “MUST HAD TO” Share!

Hello Recovery Friends And Welcome New Visitors,

Now many of you know I’m active as an “Advocate” for those of us in recovery and who suffer from Mental illness as well.  So when I saw
this story on my “Yahoo Stories,” something snapped inside me as I was “Screaming” inside my head, YES, YES, YES!! A Mom who did the right thing to prove a POINT! STOP YOUR KIDS FROM CYBER-BULLYNG OTHER KIDS!

I say, ” KUDO’S” to this mom for setting her daughter straight, and let her know that “Bullying” is killing children. It’s bad enough for kids and teens to have to work through peer pressure on a “”Daily basis, drugs, smoking pot, gambling, and MORE!

SUICIDE IS NOT FUNNY, and IT HAPPENS when these kids get cyber-bullied. It’s a WASTE OF PRECIOUS LIFE, and it makes no sense. I know personally how these kids feel. I was treated the same way in school because of my own Mental Health disabilities. I had speech problems as a little kid, and had to take a speech coaching class. Also having “Attention Deficit Disorder” that followed me into adulthood was also a hurdle. When I read in my classroom, other kids would laugh or snicker. It was very hurtful, and made me withdraw into myself and into depression and isolation even more! So when I read this little story,….I just HAD to share it so that maybe other parents who catch their own kids “Bullying” other kids may follow suit.

Now of course there maybe some “Backlash” to the “Suburb Mom” who made her daughter hold a sign up and posted it on Facebook as punishment for bullying, I say to those people……”Mind Your Own Business”!!  Let her daughter FEEL how the other person felt.

Mom Cybershames Daughter for Online Bullying. Who’s the Bully Now?
.
By

By | Parenting

.

(Photo credit: AngryCommGuy/Imgur)
.

(Photo credit: AngryCommGuy/Imgur)Dunce caps seem like a harsh and antiquated way of making kids behave, but the public arena otherwise known as the Internet is bringing public shaming  back into vogue as a means of discipline. On Sunday, a redditor called AngryCommGuy posted a picture titled “Mom Catches Daughter Cyberbullying,” he says it was posted by a “surburban mom” on Facebook.

The image shows a girl, who appears to be in her early teens, holding a sign and an iPod. The sign reads: “My name is Hailey. I am a kind, caring, smart girl, but I make poor choices with social media. As a punishment, I am selling my iPod and will be donating the money to the charity Beat Bullying, in hopes of changing my behavior as well as bringing awareness to Bullying. Because bullying is wrong.”

In an era when even some judges are sentencing people to wear humiliating signs to atone for their crimes, this is only one of many incidents picked up by the media of parents using online shaming notes to reprimand their children. And apparently, it can be a powerfully aversive tool. In 2012, a Texas mom posted a photo of her 12-year-old daughter holding a shaming sign on Instagram as a punishment for displaying a selfie holding a bottle of vodka. The mother told ABC News, “She actually asked for a spanking instead; she begged for a spanking.”

The redditor did not respond to Yahoo Shine’s request for comment, but on the social sharing site, he further explained that the reaction to the photo on Facebook was “high fives all around.” An argument can be made that the girl’s mother is teaching her daughter a valuable lesson — and one that she will never forget — by showing her precisely what it feels like to be humiliated online. “Parenting! *Fist bump freeze in the air*” wrote one commenter. Another recalled, “When I was 6, my mom caught me bullying a kid for being poor/dirty. Made me wear the same unwashed outfit for a week. BAM! Empathy learned.”

However, many other commenters are calling out the mom for cyberbullying herself. One asked, “How to teach your kid to not be a cyberbully: post a judgmental photo of her on the Internet so people can see how bad she is.” Another added, “I think shaming your kids is horrific parenting and all the ‘parenting: doing it right’ replies [that] this kind of submission gets is very sad.”

Family therapist and parenting expert Karen Ruskin praises the mother for taking action and says she sees many parents who have a “not my kid” attitude when it comes to bullying, but she feels this kind of punishment both perpetuates the problem and doesn’t teach a kid about real empathy. “Without realizing it, the mother is actually doing what her daughter did to another child,” she tells Yahoo Shine. “Cyberbullying is psychologically hurting someone using social media. Now you are putting your daughter in a position where she is being shamed.”

Ruskin says it would be more beneficial for everyone if the daughter went to the victim’s house and apologized face-to-face: “Standing there with a note doesn’t help the other person.” While Ruskin feels that parents who use this type of punishment may mean well, they won’t get the outcome they seek since they are contradicting their own message. “And giving her iPod to charity? I’d rather see her donate her time. One day, I’m certain, the daughter is going to get another iPod.”
.

**I say if it’s Good Enough for JUDGES to sentence these kids to go out and hold up SIGNS, then why is it not GOOD ENOUGH FOR PARENTS to do SO? It’s not like there abusing their kids. ** *WHAT ARE YOUR THOUHTS*? Let me know in the comment section! We can not fix things if we DON’T DISCUSS AND TALK ABOUT THEM RIGHT?*
.

Author, Catherine Townsend-Lyon

2 thoughts on “SHARING With You A “MUST HAD TO” Share!

  1. I think the mother did the right thing. The punishment fits the crime. Now little Ms. Cyberbully is getting a taste of her own medicine. Parents need to be parents not your kids friends. Children need to learn that their are consequences for their actions. Thanks to cushy, namby-pamby parenting we now have an entire generation of lazy kids with an over-sized sense of entitlement. I see way too many parents who make excuses for their kids bad behavior. These parents don’t seem to understand that soft no responsibility parenting will only make for trouble as that child ages into their teenage years and beyond. On one end of the spectrum the parent that did their kids homework allowed them to slip-slip in school, honey in the real working world Bosses don’t want to hear excuses about why you can’t do or complete an assignment. Managers will just show you the door. Real World!! At the extreme end of the spectrum kids who back talk teachers and bully other students, well once you get old enough to be arrested for illegal behavior the Police, Court System, Judge and their fellow prisoners won’t be so kind, gentle and understanding.

    Like

Share Your Recovery Here!

