*Mental Health Awareness Week* ~~ How You Can Help

Hello Recovery Friends, Readers, & New Pals,

Mental Health Awareness RibbonMental Health Awareness WEEK……*JOIN ME*

Here is a HOW I’M helping and celebrating *Mental Health Awareness Week* along side a Fantastic Research Program for the *Re-Development Guidelines of Early Intervention of Suicide Prevention* within the Mental Health Community Globally.

For myself, I’m just a regular woman, who became addicted to Compulsive Gambling, which brought out my Bipolar 2 illness to the fore front, as I’d been suffering many years undiagnosed. I always knew there was a little something wrong & different about me from others, but never could put my finger on it. And felt this way as a young girl. But then I had some traumatic events happen, as I was abused, and I am a sexual abuse survivor from the age of 9 to 12 years old.

It wasn’t until adulthood that I used gambling to hide all my feelings that resurfaced from my past, my emotional disorders, and more. That is how I ended up in a Mental/Addiction Crisis Center TWICE, Via the hospital. My first failed suicide attempt was from a very bad  Gambling Relapse and cutting on myself to get stress relief, but cut to far in my wrists in 2002. That’s when I got the diagnosed Bipolar 2 disorder with manic depression and anxiety…

I started on medications, and my life with mental illness began. My second attempt of suicide was in 2006, from stopping my medications for mental illness, as I was hung up on JUST WANTING to be NORMAL like the rest of the people in world! What ever the HELL NORMAL WAS. I got tired of people treating me differently because I had mental illness, even my own family. SO I Stopped taking my meds, then after a few weeks I got hopeless again in life and in recovery from my addiction, and took ALL my pills at ONCE,…..Needless to say, back in the Hospital I went, and almost didn’t make it. Then back into the Mental/addictions Crisis Center for another long stay. I detoxed, and started on all new Medications as the others stop working. I felt so low, helpless, and lost…

I share all of this, and about gambling addiction in my book, Addicted To Dimes,(Confessions of a liar and a Cheat)……  http://www.amazon.com/dp/0984478485/
I started my book from a little girl, all the way through 2011 when I started writing my story down in notebooks, along with research and the many journals I’d been writing in since entering Long Term Recovery. I wanted others to understand, and give insight to a lot of ugly things about addiction, and Mental illness. NO, I don’t spell perfect,  or use correct punctuation, nor do I always form proper sentences,……that is what an Editor is for!….LOL

But I DO write from the *Heart and Soul,*  from my feelings and thoughts. My experience, of living in Recovery and having Mental illness, I feel make me qualified to be on this Panel of people who are helping the Website I’m about to *SHARE* with you.

The University Of Melbourne, Australia is doing Research and working on New Global Guidelines for Early Intervention on Suicide Prevention. It’s another way I can help those who have been taken from Loved Ones by Suicide, and to help PREVENT future loss of Life. Just like I try to educate others about Addicted Compulsive Gambling here on my Recovery Blog. In recovery, I have had to have Cognitive Behavior Therapy due to the Over use of my brain in my addiction. I know that my addiction also played a part of some other disorders I have that directly are tied to my years of gambling addiction.

Picture borrowed from: http://www.nami.org/Content/NavigationMenu/Campaign_for_the_Mind_of_America/Mental_Illness_Awareness_Week/MIAW-sticker-circle-2.5.jpg Copyright remains that of the original owner.

 

Here is a little more on what I’m involved in, THANKS to Anna Ross for inviting me to be a PANELIST, & part of this wonderful project! If you feel you’d like to help, Anna’s contact info will be listed within this Website I’m going to share. I’m sure she’d be happy to have your insight & Input.

This project is part of *THE UNIVERSITY OF MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA *
“Click on this Link for Details”

http://pmhg.unimelb.edu.au/news_and_events/suicide_and_non-suicidal_self_injury_guidelines

Melbourne School of Population and Global Health

Population Mental Health Group

Calling for suicide and non-suicidal self-injury (NSSI) experts and consumer advocates

Re-development of mental health first aid guidelines for suicidal thoughts and behaviours, and NSSI

Suicide and NSSI are mental health problems of considerable public concern as 4% of the Western population are estimated to engage in self-harming behaviours, and suicide is a leading cause of death worldwide. In an attempt to prevent both suicide and NSSI, the Population Mental Health Group are re-developing guidelines for members of the public providing first aid for people who are having suicidal thoughts or displaying suicidal behaviour, or engaging in NSSI. We want to ensure the guidelines remain consistent with the current recommendations and contain the most recent and appropriate helping actions.

We are calling for people to join our expert panel for who are considered to have an expert level of knowledge about suicide and/or NSSI through their experience as a mental health professional or as a mental health consumer advocate. If you have experienced suicidal thoughts, displayed suicidal behaviour or engaged in NSSI in the past, we would really appreciate your help with what we believe to be an extremely important and worth-while project…

The total time commitment for this project is estimated to be approximately 2-3 hours, with all contact made via the internet. Once developed, the guidelines will be freely available to download from the Mental Health First Aid website: www.mhfa.com.au. More information about the project can be found by clicking this link.

If you would like to express interest in participating or have any questions about this project, please let us know by contacting Anna Ross (anross@unimelb.edu.au).

Population Mental Health Group           › About us   › Group profile

Group profile

The aims of the Group are to:

  1. Conduct research on what actions members of the community can take to prevent and intervene early with mental disorders;
  2. Translate the findings from this research into practical interventions that empower the whole community to take action; and
  3. To train researchers in this area.

The Group has a close link with Mental Health First Aid International which is a not-for-profit agency translating research findings into practical action..

***SO IF YOU FEEL YOU CAN HELP THEM IN THIS PROJECT< PLEASE CONTACT *ANNA ROSS* and she will be HAPPY TO HELP YOU!***
LET’S JOIN TOGETHER FOR *MENTAL HEALTH AWARENESS WEEK* IT’S GOING TO SAVE LIVES!…

*HERE IS AN UDATE ON A STORY I DID AWHILE BACK WHEN THERE WAS A *SPIKE* IN CELEBRITY SUICIDE”S* & WHY I CHOSE TO ACCEPT THE INVITE FOR THIS PROJECT**

 

©AP/ Lee Thompson Young

© AP/ Lee Thompson Young
Lee Thompson Young suffered from bipolar disorder
Oct. 9, 2013, 8:58 AM EST

WENN

Former Disney star Lee Thompson Young was suffering from  bipolar disorder when he committed suicide in August, according to a coroner’s  report.

The body of “The Famous Jett Jackson” star was discovered at his Los Angeles  apartment. He was 29. Officials ruled he had taken his own life by shooting  himself in the head with a handgun, and now a report from the Los Angeles County  Coroner claims the actor had a history of mental health issues.

In the report, one witness statement reveals Young had “a history of bipolar  disorder.” The documents add, “He was known to take his medications as  prescribed. He is a social drinker and denies any narcotic abuse. [Witness] last  spoke with him Wednesday, 08/14/2013, and he appeared to be okay. She is not  aware of any financial problems and denies suicidal threats or attempts.”

*Author, Catherine Townsend-Lyon* *LETS HELP SAVE LIVES*

5 thoughts on “*Mental Health Awareness Week* ~~ How You Can Help

  1. Cat, For a long time, from 1999 – 2007 I too was in the clutches of Dr. Feelgood. I felt like the characters from the song, Go Ask Alice by Jefferson Airplane. One pill makes you bigger. Another makes you small. Go Ask Alice when she’s 10 feet tall. Popping pills had me more flipped out than my depression and panic attacks. Menopause made it worse but this year I sought deliverance through Buddhist Meditation. It helps a lot. Also the people in the Temple have provided me with a much needed support network. I’m Thankful and am doing much better.

    Like

    • I really here what your saying. I just turned 50, soon 51 and I have started the FUN of early
      menopause. I started taking and going all natural meds to help. I say what ever works for each person in recovery
      is Best. Meditation, therapy, yoga, working out, walking, what ever. AS Long as we are doing Something, not Nothing.
      That Counts. 🙂 I’m happy you found a good support community! Hugs!xxoo *Catherine*

      Like

Share Your Recovery Here!

