My Agoraphobia ~~ Just A Little Poem….

MY AGORAPHOBIA…….

The nighttime passed and slips into day, within these walls I seem to stay.

My fright and fear seems to really build, as I long for a day with Magic filled.

I open my blind to take a peek, my head gets some fuzz and my heart gets meek.

I look at the sky I seem to dizzy, my heart just goes in a tizzy.

Within these days my heart race’s, just to be around all those happy face’s.

I look across the room to the door, wishing my steps could let me soar.

A Soul that steep’s to just be normal, seems to elude with torment so primal.

To step outside a fear so strong, my panic sets in easy as a song.

So as another day passed into night, I lay my head down with tears and fright.

Depressed and sad I hate this way, lord make this disease just go away.

As my head and heart can’t seem to follow, I sit within these walls to wallow.

For one of these days I’ll knock down that door, lace up my shoes to let my Heart Soar.

I’ll walk down that street with stride and pride, to someday get to that ocean’s tide.

So bring on the night so peaceful and tried, one of these days my Wings will FLY.

Yes one of these day’s I’ll rid this Disease,  only these walls I call friends it seems…..

*WHAT IS AGORAPHOBIA?*….

Panic disorder with agoraphobia……

Panic disorder with agoraphobia is an anxiety disorder in which a person has attacks of intense fear and anxiety. There is also a fear of being in places where it is hard to escape, or where help might not be available.A.D.A.M.

Agoraphobia usually involves fear of crowds, bridges, or of being outside alone.

Causes, incidence, and risk factors

The exact causes of panic disorder and agoraphobia are unknown. Because panic attacks often occur in areas or situations where they have happened in the past, panic may be a learned behavior. Agoraphobia sometimes occurs when a person has had a panic attack and begins to fear situations that might lead to another panic attack.

Anyone can develop a panic disorder, but it usually starts around age 25. Panic disorder is more common in *women* than men.

Symptoms

Panic attacks involve short periods of intense anxiety symptoms, which peak within 10 minutes.

With agoraphobia, you avoid places or situations because you do not feel safe in public places. The fear is worse when the place is crowded.

Symptoms of agoraphobia include:

  • Being afraid of spending time alone
  • Being afraid of places where escape might be hard
  • Being afraid of losing control in a public place
  • Depending on others
  • Feeling detached or separated from others
  • Feeling helpless
  • Feeling that the body is not real
  • Feeling that the environment is not real
  • Having an unusual temper or agitation
  • Staying in the house for long periods of time

Signs and tests

People who first experience panic sometimes fear they have a serious illness, or are even dying. Often, people will go to an emergency room or other urgent care center because they think they are having a heart attack.

A physical examination and psychological evaluation can help diagnose panic disorder. It is important to rule out any medical disorders, such as problems involving the heart, hormones, breathing, nervous system, and substance abuse. Which tests are done to rule out these conditions depends on the symptoms.

Treatment

The goal of treatment is to help you feel and function better. The success of treatment usually depends in part on how severe the agoraphobia is.

The standard treatment approach combines cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT) with an antidepressant medication.


** AUTHOR, CATHERINE TOWNSEND-LYON **
http://www.simplesite.com/CatherineLyonAddictedToDimes My Book/Writer Blog.

10 thoughts on “My Agoraphobia ~~ Just A Little Poem….

  1. Catherine, I understand. I too deal with this horrible condition. You are brave, you have this website and it has helped me not to feel so…alone. I’ve suffered with this for many years. I have days that are better than others and I do venture out with my family or husband, though often remaining in the car when I get too overwhelmed. I wonder if this is caused by adrenal fatigue, I am going to research my idea. I hope your doing well..

    Like

    • “Always now know your not alone anymore BJ”
      I think since I can not get out and Speak or Coach in person because of my disabilities, I can sure WRITE about living with these issues and give others a VOICE…..Yes, it sure is difficult at times, but I try not to let it stop me to reach out to others, and reach my own Goals!
      You come visit anytime you need! Hugs! *Cat*

      Like

  2. Dear Catherine: I just had to share with you. There is a beautiful book called, One Thousand Gifts, written by Ann Voskamp. It is a story of her journey out of agoraphobia using a profound and intense practice of gratitude. I highly recommend it … 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Why Meditate? Meditation, Anxiety & Other Problems | Modern Pioneer Magazine

  4. Agoraphobia sound horrible. However, do you really think your change in living conditions is part of it? Although I’m sure I don’t have this disorder, I get uncomfortable a large family gathering. I’m happiest when I’m alone. Going from a quiet household to a noisy one would put a little panic in almost anyone.

    I do hope you beat this disorder.

    Like

    • Thanks very much! I enjoy your thought & Advice 🙂
      It is not much to do with my New Living conditions per say, it’s more of all it
      took to have to get here that was triggering my attacks. The shock of having to give
      up our Apt, but also our world turning upside down of having to leave Oregon, and give up
      my babies (CATS) and the Process of all of it was the problem. AND…..the long 2 day car
      ride to get to Arizona. Having Agoraphobia gets you to appoint that you rarely leave your
      home, NOT that I don’t want to, but the fright, panic, and overwhelming fear does that. 😦
      These all are like triggers of the disorder. I do hope as well I can beat this!!
      Hugs & Blessings your way! *Catherine*

      Like

    • Well Tony,
      I’ve had Panic with Agoraphobia now for 3 years. That is why this whole move & relocating was some what tough. My Doc gave a few HAPPY pills to get me through the long drive here. I also think it is why it’s been a little hard going from a family of my hubby and I, into a house now with 7 people……I take it One Day At a Time, just like my Recovery…and just smile a lot…LOL… Have a great a weekend! *Catherine*

      Like

Share Your Recovery Here!

