Are You a problem gambler?…Riddle Me This?

WELL, ARE YOU?

Well, it is another weekend……which means many in Recovery from Addiction have a pretty tough time in recovery on the weekends. I know I did when I still gambled.
Weekends were to Blow Off Stress of the work week, not be bored, or…..when you gross that line into addicted gambling, your DISEASED mind would take you there if you wanted to or NOT! SO I POSE THIS QUESTION……ARE YOU A PROBLEM GAMBLER?

As a support member of GA, (Gamblers Anonymous) gambling is defined as Follows,
“Any betting or wagering for money or not, for yourself or others, and it depends on skill or chance constitutes gambling.”

*RIDDLE ME THIS*  Want to know if you’re a Problem Gambler?
Answer these 20 Questions HONESTLY…..and you’ll know if you are or not….

20 Questions…*If you answer YES to 7 out of 20….You maybe a problem gambler*

1. Did you ever lose time from work or school due to    gambling? Yes No
2. Has gambling ever made your home life unhappy? Yes No
3. Did gambling affect your reputation? Yes No
4. Have you ever felt remorse after gambling? Yes No
5. Did you ever gamble to get money with which to pay debts    or otherwise solve financial difficulties? Yes No
6. Did gambling cause a decrease in your ambition or    efficiency? Yes No
7. After losing did you feel you must return as soon as    possible and win back your losses? Yes No
8. After a win did you have a strong urge to return and win    more? Yes No
9. Did you often gamble until your last dollar was gone? Yes No
10. Did you ever borrow to finance your gambling? Yes No
11. Have you ever sold anything to finance gambling? Yes No
12. Were you reluctant to use “gambling money” for normal    expenditures? Yes No
13. Did gambling make you careless of the welfare of  yourself    or your family? Yes No
14. Did you ever gamble longer than you had planned? Yes No
15. Have you ever gambled to escape worry, trouble, boredom or loneliness? Yes No
16. Have you ever committed, or considered committing, an    illegal act to finance gambling? Yes No
17. Did gambling cause you to have difficulty in sleeping? Yes No
18. Do arguments, disappointments or frustrations create    within you an urge to gamble? Yes No
19. Did you ever have an urge to celebrate any good fortune by    a few hours of gambling? Yes No
20. Have you ever considered self-destruction or suicide as a    result of your gambling? Yes No
 **IF YOU ANSWERED *YES* TO 7 out of 20….YOU MAYBE A PROBLEM GAMBLER**

I know after a while crossing that line into addicted compulsive gambling, the ACT became more like being held hostage to those damn SLOT & VIDEO POKER machines! You start to lose yourself, just ZONE OUT because I used gambling as a form of *ESCAPE* from stress, tension, old hauntings of my past childhood abuse, grief from the loss of my mom in 2003, my best friend in 2002, and having OCD brought out *HIGH MANIA* from my Undiagnosed Bipolar 2 disorder.

I had NO CONTROL over my gambling. It just about destroyed my life, and myself along with it!  This Cunning Disease took everything that was GOOD in my LIFE, including me with 2 failed Suicide attempts. It was no fun anymore, and when I gambled, I had no control. I’d win thousands in one day, but that just meant I’d be held HOSTAGE Longer until I gambled every single penny away, and MORE of my own money.Winning can be an UGLIER BEAST then losing. They BOTH will keep you in the CYCLE of the addiction. Winning makes you think that you’ll WIN ALL THE TIME….Losing will also keep you in the cycle, because you’ll keep going BACK TO CHASE WHAT you LOST!

That’s why we call it a *CUNNING* disease & illness.

One PROFOUND MOMENT I can share is the DAY I learned about the Oregon Lottery
Video Poker/Slot Machines. My best friend and I went to a little Deli for lunch on Saturdays. In Oregon, these type of places were allowed to have 6 video poker machines in their stores.

So, as we ate lunch, I’d play Keno,….as the Oregon Lottery also offered this. We met some nice retired guys that I’d seen there before, and we got to talking to them. One of the gentleman went on the other side where the machines were. I was watching him play a Video Poker Game called: “FlushFever”… So, I sat down next to him on an open machine, and I put $5.00 dollars in and won $50!….He explained how the game works, so I gave it try. He had racked up $178 dollars already in just 15 minutes!! I thought WOW!, this is awesome!! SO,….as I was playing, the sweet retired man cashed out his winning ticket from his machine, and went to the cashier and got his winnings.

Before he left,…..he came over to me, bent down near my ear and SAID, “Be smart, always cash out and leave with THEIR  MONEY, don’t play it all out, I’d feel bad if you got addicted to these damn Machines”……You know what?,  I never saw that man again after that day. If HE ONLY KNEW what I had been through with addicted gambling!!

The other thing about this disease is what it can make you do in the addicted moment….It makes you LIE, CHEAT, BLAME, STEAL, become a THIEF, and SO MUCH MORE. But that is another blog post in its self!  I can not tell you HOW much I hated WHO I’D BECOME within my Compulsive Gambling Addiction!! Towards the end, after my 2nd failed SUICIDE attempt in 2006…..(I stopped taking my meds for Bipolar & had a bad Gambling Relapse because I just wanted to BE NORMAL)…I stopped looking in the bathroom mirror at myself because, I HATED WHAT GAMBLING ADDICTION had done to ME!

So, I guess my POINT in all this DISCLOSURE, is to ask a SIMPLE QUESTION….ARE YOU A PROBLEM GAMBLER? Again, if you ANSWER 7 of out 20 questions as *YES*…..you maybe a problem gambler.

FOR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT ADDICTED GAMBLING,

Please Visit *Gamblers Anonymous* at: http://www.gamblersanonymous.org  They are a Helpful & Supportive Website for Information, Support, and Find a Meeting in your area.

Since I’m sure I have got you all a Wee Bit Down with my experience of Addicted Gambling, lets lighten the mood as I go out with a *KITTY BANG*!! WHY? Because it is*CATURDAY*!

I miss my TWO BABIES….but they have Great New Homes and PEEPS who are giving them Loads Of LUV….So lets have a few LAUGHS shall WE?…

          

                    

           

            

**AND LASTLY……LMAO…***

SO I HOPE these KITTY PIC’S made you Smile! Because for Me…Life in RECOVERY is A BETTER WAY OF LIFE!!** God Bless Friends!
Author, Catherine Townsend-Lyon
Addicted To Dimes, (Confessions of a liar and a Cheat)
http://www.Amazon.com/dp/0984478485 

2 thoughts on “Are You a problem gambler?…Riddle Me This?

  1. Pingback: THE LIEBSTER AWARD – discovering new blogs… | Cassie Warren SOCIAL TALK

Share Your Recovery Here!

