*A Speechless & Generous Act of Kindness*

       ***AN UPDATE ON THIS GENEROUS ACT OF KINDNESS***

I’m a person who actually has a hard time with *Compliments* when they happen to be bestowed upon me. And, I’m not a person to brag either. But I want to SHARE a most “Generous act of kindness” I’m sure won’t happen to me again in this life time. I will leave the person *Anonymous* as the person would like to be.

When my book first came out, I was instructed by my Publisher to do a little Promo through our Local Newspaper to band local support for my book, “Addicted To Dimes”(Confessions of a liar & a Cheat) www.amazon.com/dp/0984478485/  So, on his advice, I did so. (See Below) I went over to our local newspaper, and gave the woman who does “Press” for our paper a copy of my book, and asked about doing a story on my book.  She joked and said, “Only if you sign the book for me,” so I did, and thought nothing more of it. That was late November around my birthday.

So, a few weeks before *Christmas* I get a call  from our hairdresser,…..I’ll call her SALLY,…lol…..I answer the phone, she says, “Hey, is your husband off today?? it was a Thursday morning, and yes he was off. So I told her, Yes……she says, “send him down for a Free Haircut cause I pulled his name out of the bowl for my 1 free haircut of the month. So, he went and got a haircut……..STAY WITH ME….

Not thinking anymore of it, Christmas Day has arrived, and, my hubby & I don’t do much on Christmas, we have no kids, nor family that live near by, so I make us a nice dinner for TWO. We also don’t have extra money to buy gifts as well, we just exchange a card to one another.

Now, I’ve been married to my husband for 24yrs, and this MAN doesn’t know the meaning of the word, “SURPRISE”……LOL…I’m his wife, so I’m allowed to say that!….LOL….but, you know what I mean, men may lack in one area but make it up in others.
So of course I was SURPRISED that when he gave me his card, he had a small box in his hand????  Now, my heart sunk a wee bit, because I know we can’t afford Jewelry!  So I take the box, there is a note that said, “A WIFE SHOULD HAVE A WEDDING RING”……

Now….if your a person who is in Recovery, then you’ll understand when I say, we will do ANYTHING to get our hands on Money for our addiction by any means, well, sadly that’s what I had done, I had pawned my wedding ring, when I was in the middle of my “Hell”…..I didn’t feel worthy of having one anyway because of the *Guilt & Shame* I felt around my addiction. ANYWHO…..back to my  Surprise! I opened the box…..and I was *SPEECHLESS*……It WAS A WEDDING RING!  I just couldn’t believe it!  This is how it came to be.

The lady at the newspaper was friends with our hairdresser, she read my book, then gave it to Sally!  Sally read the book and said, she was so moved & touched that she wanted me to have a New wedding ring, and that’s why she called my husband to come get his hair cut, so she could give him the ring to give to me on Christmas Day!!  I’m still in a Bit of Shock to this day. You know how we learn about not getting *Complacent*in our Recovery??…….

Well, I have a Beautiful Ring on my left ring finger that REMINDS ME every day Where I WAS, and where I am today in My Recovery!!  I want to THANK Sally again,  for the 100th time!  SHE WILL Never truly understand what that *ACT OF GENEROUS KINDNESS* means to me.

And, please, those in recovery…..*Live Life in the MOMENT(…..Stop looking over your shoulder, your PAST is just that, *PAST*……WHO you are Today in Recovery is what matters, not your past, NOR does it Define who you are in your Recovery!  *God Bless,  Author, Catherine Townsend-Lyon*

**AN UPDATE…..I got my New RING TODAY!! Had to save a Wee bit of $$$ so as to add a little more Gold to have it sized properly, and it is done, just got it BACK TODAY!!…..and it is *BEAUTIFUL*…..I FEEL like a REAL Married Woman again!! My husband Tom asked me to MARRY HIM AGAIN, then slipped my Ring Back on my Finger!!

After all him and I have been through these past few years, all the trials & tribulation, HE STILL LOVES ME!! He never gave up on me, even in the Worst of my Addiction, and issues……I’M TRULY ONE BLESSED WOMAN!! He really is, *”MY KNIGHT IN SHINING ARMOUR!!”*

PRAISE THE LORD FOR BLESSING ME WITH MY *TOM*……:-) 🙂 ***

3 thoughts on “*A Speechless & Generous Act of Kindness*

    • *You are JUST SO kind my *SWEET* friend!! Thank You SO MUCH!! I just “Share” what ever seems to lay upon my HEART each day with regards to my Recovery Journey. It maybe Tips and Advice on what helps and works for me in recovery, something that mat have happened, so I share it, or finding Useful and Helpful Recovery sites and information to share with others who maybe struggling with any type of addiction. So, Thanks….it means a lot to me!! Hugs, LUV, and Blessings to you, Catherine 🙂 ❤ 🙂

      Like

Share Your Recovery Here!

